Press Releaase

Lux Trio wins the 2019 Parkhouse Award Competition

The Lux Trio, which won the 2019 Parkhouse Award at Wigmore Hall on Saturday 20 April with compelling performances of piano trios by Haydn and Smetana, is based in Berlin, having studied together initially in South Korea. The jury, Ian Brown, Levon Chilingirian, Louise Hopkins and Richard Morrison, with chairman Chris de Souza, also heard Trio Incendio (Czechoslovakia), Amarins Wierdsma/Edward Liddall violin & piano (Netherlands/UK) and Trio Ramales (Spain)

Founded in 2014 in Berlin, the Lux Trio won first prize at the Alice-Samter Stiftung Kammermusikwettbewerb (2016), the Artsylvia-foundation chamber music audition in South Korea (2017) and the Gasteig Musikpreis, Munich, in 2018. Winning the Parkhouse Award means the Trio will appear in a series of concerts in London and across the UK plus receive career advice and support.

The Trio has participated in masterclasses with Priya Mitchell, Mischa Meyer and the Fauré Quartet. Since 2016 the trio has worked intensively with Dirk Mommertz and Christoph Poppen at the Hochschule für Music und Theater, Munich and from 2018 has been on the Belcea Quartet's chamber coaching programme.

The Lux Trio reached the Finals of the 2017 Parkhouse Award and were encouraged to return in 2019. Judging by the audience reaction, an awful lot of people were very glad they did.

Lux Trio,
winners of 2019 Parkhouse Award
(click image for high resolution version)